Personal, educational, and career goals in Design

I have grown fond of graphic design in the last two years of my life. Through my various volunteer roles, I’ve had the opportunity to create and publish some pretty neat things for student organizations at UBC. I have provided services to both UBC Engineering Undergraduate Society and UBC Research Konnect because I believe they were non-profit organizations with great visions. In the process, I have learned how to make agendas, yearbooks, and marketing materials for event promotion. Unfortunately, I was self-taught, and I see my work being quite amateur compared to the professional material I receive from companies at career fairs.

Although I have not completed my studies at UBC yet, I am in need of a break from the academic demands of my engineering degree. What better way to take a break than pursuing something I like doing? I have already done as much self-teaching as I could and I believe it’s time to seek more professional guidance. One of my goals in life has always been to keep on learning and improving my skills and this is definitely the time to do that.

I want to attend the FIND program at Kwantlen as an opportunity to explore the different disciplines in design. There are still many aspects of graphic design I have yet to experience, such as web design. With my minimal experience in graphic design, I want to keep my options open and learn more about other opportunities in the industry. Getting training from professionals in a classroom setting will be a different, but good, learning experience.

My current career goal is to be become a freelance graphic designer. I like the idea of being my own boss and setting my own hours. I am not a morning person and I think I should pursue a career that fits my lifestyle, rather than the other way around. Furthermore, I want a career that will not be affected when I have a family, which will most likely be in the next five years or so. My mom had to give up work to become a housewife in order to take care of both me and my brother; she suggested I pursue a work-from-home career. Being a freelance graphic designer will give me that opportunity, as well as the option to work in the office full-time or on contract.

Leave a Reply

