Being realistic about fashion drawing: is your head too small?

Last week, we were told to do some figure drawings of people. I decided to sit at the Tim Hortons and draw the people in line. I have never done this before so I drew exactly what I saw. After all, if I do become a fashion designer one day, I will be making clothes for the average Joe to wear.

Here is the first figure drawing I did that day. I know I did the head too big, but it’s because I am used to drawing anime.  The rest of the body looks proportioned to me, so I am certain this is what the average person looks like. I measured the proportions afterwards and it was 5.5 heads. If I did the head smaller, it would be closer to 6 heads:

Real Figure Drawing 1
Real Figure Drawing 1

After I show this to one of my classmate, she told me I didn’t do it right. The proper way to do figure drawings is apparently with 8 heads. I was like “NO WAY someone could be that tall. Their head would be tiny!” So I went to do some research and sure enough, 8 head figure drawing is real:

8 Head Figure Drawing
8 Head Figure Drawing

Source

I don’t believe there is anyone that skinny or has that small of a head; it just doesn’t look right. I went to look up some pictures of runway models, who are pretty darn skinny. These images were not stretched or altered in any way. However, even with heels, runway models only get to 7.5 heads. Without heels, they are actually only 7 heads tall:

Models
Models

I also decided to measure some of the female celebrities my male friends tell me are “hot”. Below is Megan Fox and Katy Perry, who I believe have healthy, but slim bodies. I believe this is the body most women can have if they maintain a good diet and eat well. Celebrities have this body because they have personal trainers and dieticians; they also rely on their image to make money. Even these best looking celebrities below only measure 6.5 heads with heels. They are about 6-6.25 heads tall without heels:

Celebrity Bodies Katy Perry and Megan Fox
Celebrity Bodies Katy Perry and Megan Fox

Now lets look at a picture of myself. Not the most flattering picture but it’s the first full body shot of me I found on Facebook. I don’t exercise regularly or have some fancy diet; I am just an average girl who likes to stay home and play games all day. I measured myself and discovered I am about 6.25 heads tall:

Measuring Myself
Measuring Myself

So I have come to the conclusion that NORMAL people are between 6-6.5 heads tall. It doesn’t make sense to do 8 head figure drawings because people are not 8 heads tall. It may look visually pleasing to fashion designers, but I don’t see a point in making it look nice on paper if it is not going to fit anyone in real life. Even if you are designing for models, they are only 7 heads tall.

This is just my 2 cents on fashion figure drawing. Let’s start being realistic.

Leave a Reply

